Posts

Welcome!

Welcome to Langley-Adams Library's Reader's Advisory blog! For anyone who doesn't know us, we are a small library in Groveland, Massachusetts. We have a small, dedicated staff with all kinds of favorite books to read!  We will be posting reviews of recommendations of books that we have our library collection! No spoilers, we promise!  Sincerely, The Langley-Adams Library Staff

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Image
  "Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of  The Lilac Girls  and  The Paris Wife ." A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors— The Paris Library  shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places." (goodreads.com) I LOVE libraries and have since I was a child. I was that child who counted down the days until I could get my library card, sit among the stacks and read the day away. So, when Sue, our Adult Services Librarian, recommended this book to me, I didn't blink an eye. From the Art Deco book cover to the way the author wove a story of love, loyalty and bravery set amongst the backdrop of a library, I was hooked from the start.  I appreciated

The Rock From the Sky by Jon Klassen

Image
  "Turtle really likes standing in his favorite spot. He likes it so much that he asks his friend Armadillo to come over and stand in it, too. But now that Armadillo is standing in that spot, he has a bad feeling about it . . . Here comes The Rock from the Sky, a meditation on the workings of friendship, fate, shared futuristic visions, and that funny feeling you get that there's something off somewhere, but you just can't put your finger on it." (goodreads.com) This book has a very unique illustration and writing style, and it is genuinely hilarious for parents and children alike. It chronicles three animals as they sit in their favorite spots and interact with one another. This is an extremely charming little story that is a lot of fun to read. Hannah Longo Library Page Available at Langley-Adams Library. Other Pictures Books By Jon Klassen:

Dear Justyce by Nic Stone

Image
"Shortly after teenager Quan enters a not guilty plea for the shooting death of a police officer, he is placed in a holding cell to await trial. Through a series of flashbacks and letters to Justyce, the protagonist of  Dear Martin , Quan's story unravels. From a troubled childhood and bad timing to a coerced confession and prejudiced police work, Nic Stone's newest novel takes an unflinching look at the flawed practices and ideologies that discriminate against African American boys and minorities in the American justice system." (goodreads.com) Dear Justyce by Nic Stone was a satisfying sequel to  Dear Martin . I liked that two readers of  Dear Martin  reached out to Stone to have her write a story that was true to their lives. They wanted her to show that not everyone has the opportunities that Justyce had and that more often than not, BIPOC teens don't always have the representation and support that they need. Quan and Justyce are characters that open your eye

Lost Stars by Claudia Gray

Image
  Lost Stars by Claudia Gray is a coming of age story of love and war. This young adult Star Wars novel starts off eleven years before the events of A New Hope, when the two main characters, Thane Kyrell and Ciena Ree, meet for the first time at a ceremony being held by the Galactic Empire on their home planet. The two of them quickly become friends, and, later on, join the imperial academy on Couruscant. After both of them gain a substantial amount of experience fighting for the Empire in the actual Galactic Civil War, Thane eventually realizes that he disagrees with the Empire’s ways so much so that he would rather be on the other side of the war, the Rebel Alliance. Thane joins the rebellion and continues to fight in the war despite Ciena still being on the opposite side. The book follows Thane and Ciena until after the events of Return of the Jedi. As an experienced storyteller, and someone who has gained a positive reputation among hardcore Star Wars fans, Claudia Gray understa

Lore by Alexandra Bracken

Image
  “Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality. Long ago, Lore Perseous fled that brutal world in the wake of her family's sadistic murder by a rival line, turning her back on the hunt's promises of eternal glory. For years she's pushed away any thought of revenge against the man--now a god--responsible for their deaths. Yet as the next hunt dawns over New York City, two participants seek out her help: Castor, a childhood friend of Lore believed long dead, and a gravely wounded Athena, among the last of the original gods. The goddess offers an alliance against their mutual enemy and, at last, a way for Lore to leave the Agon behind forever. But Lore's decision to bind her fate to Athena's and rejoin the hunt will come at a deadly cost--and still may not be enough t

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Image
  “ To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister's ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.” (g oodreads.com ) This story is a sweet and complicated teen romantic comedy with many twists and turns, with suspense and laughter, and, of course, romance. Readers such as myself will love the almost real story- telling of Ms. Han and all her books. Jhanliz Guzman-Mata Langley-Adams Library Volunteer

Boys Run the Riot, Vol. 1 by Keito Gaku

Image
"High schooler Ryuu knows he's transgender. But he doesn't have anyone to confide in about the confusion he feels. He can't tell his best friend, who he's secretly got a crush on, and he can't tell his mom, who's constantly asking why Ryuu is always dressing like a boy. He certainly can't tell Jin, the new transfer student who looks like just another bully. The only time Ryuu feels at ease is when he's wearing his favorite clothes. Then, and only then, the world melts away, and he can be his true self.  One day, while out shopping, Ryuu sees an unexpected sight: Jin. The kid who looked so tough in class is shopping for the same clothes that Ryuu loves. And Jin offers Ryuu a proposal: to start their own brand and create apparel to help everyone feel comfortable in their skin. At last, Ryuu has someone he can open up to--and the journey ahead might finally give him a way to express himself to everyone else. Boys Run The Riot is about a transgender tee