Posts

Welcome!

Welcome to Langley-Adams Library's Reader's Advisory blog!

For anyone who doesn't know us, we are a small library in Groveland, Massachusetts. We have a small, dedicated staff with all kinds of favorite books to read! 


We will be posting reviews of recommendations of books that we have our library collection as well as information about upcoming titles! No spoilers, we promise! 

Sincerely,

The Langley-Adams Library Staff







My Family and Other Animals (Corfu Trilogy #1) by Gerald Durrell

Image
“When the unconventional Durrell family can no longer endure the damp, gray English climate, they do what any sensible family would do: sell their house and relocate to the sunny Greek isle of Corfu. My Family and Other Animals was intended to embrace the natural history of the island but ended up as a delightful account of Durrell’s family’s experiences, from the many eccentric hangers-on to the ceaseless procession of puppies, toads, scorpions, geckoes, ladybugs, glowworms, octopuses, bats, and butterflies into their home.” (Goodreads.com)
I chose to read this book because of the PBS television show “The Durrells in Corfu.” I thoroughly enjoyed the show about the English family who decided to move to Greece. While I waited for the fourth season to come out I needed something to fill the void. I knew the show was based on a series so I started with the first book.
Now, I should warn you, if you are infatuated with the relationship between Louisa and Spiroand hope that this book will g…

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women by Rey Terciero

Image
“2018 marks the 150th anniversary of the classic Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Join Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy as they are re-envisioned as a blended family living in modern day NYC in this beautiful, full-color graphic novel that's perfect for fans of Raina Telemeier's Smile, Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward, and Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl.”(Goodreads.com)

‘Little Women’ is near and dear to my heart. I love the book and the films, so naturally I would read the graphic novel. It was interesting to see little women portrayed in the present day. I liked that the characters reflected the diversity of families and addressed the issues that we face today. It wasn’t my favorite adaptation of ‘Little Women’ but I think it would be great for younger readers to be introduced to the March family.
I recommend this graphic novel if you are interesred in LGBTQ coming out stories, or if you’d like to read a shortened version of ‘Little Women’ depicted in current day situations.
Megh…

The Widows of Malabar Hill By Sujata Massey

Image
Having just won the 2019 Mary Higgins Clark award, I was very curious to read this book. Being an avid mystery and historical fiction reader, it was nice reading something that included both of these genres. I also appreciated this mystery’s fresh approach.
Set in the 1920’s Bombay, Perveen Mistry is Bombay’s first female lawyer. Earning her law degree from Oxford, Perveen is the daughter of a prominent lawyer and has joined his firm. Mistry’s Law has been appointed to execute the will of, Mr. Omar Farid. Mr. Farid was a wealthy mill owner who left behind 3 Muslim widows -who are living in full purdah . In looking into this will, Perveen finds it strange that each woman has signed over their inheritance to a charity. Perveen decides she must get to the bottom of her suspicion. While investigating this, a murder occurs! Thus…the story becomes …a murder mystery!

The Widows of Malabar Hill goes back and forth between 1921 and 1915. I found the back story of Perveen helpful in understandi…

Paper Girls (Volumes 1-5) by Brian K. Vaughan

Image
"In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this critically acclaimed story about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood."*

This graphic novel series has it all, amazing artwork, cool characters and an interesting story line. I really enjoyed it because this group of girls unexpectedly comes together to go on the adventure of a lifetime, that none of them had ever expected. There are currently five volumes in this series with more to come.

Kelsey Fitzgerald
Library Assistant

Available at the Langley Adams Library
*Paper Girls - Goodreads

Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America by Erik Larson

Image
"Two men, each handsome and unusually adept at his chosen work, embodied an element of the great dynamic that characterized America's rush toward the twentieth century. The architect was Daniel Hudson Burnham, the fair's brilliant director of works and the builder of many of the country's most important structures, including the Flatiron Building in New York and Union Station in Washington, D.C. The murderer was Henry H. Holmes, a young doctor who, in a malign parody of the White City, built his "World's Fair Hotel" just west of the fairgrounds—a torture palace complete with dissection table, gas chamber, and 3,000-degree crematorium.  What makes the story all the more chilling is that Holmes really lived, walking the grounds of that dream city by the lake."*

In this one book there were two interesting stories although the story of H.H Holmes captured my attention more. However, I learned a lot of fascinating facts that I never would have known other…

Like a Lizard by April Pulley Sayre with illustrations by Stephanie Laberis

Image
Did you know some lizards do push-ups? Did you know some squirt blood from their eyes as a defense mechanism? Discover 28 different lizard species and their every day behaviors in April Pulley Sayre’s picture book Like a Lizard. Explore the surprising adaptations lizards exhibit in the wild brought to life in vibrant illustrations by Stephanie Laberis.
The back of the book lists every lizard featured for interested students, along with the region they are found in and their body length. Perfect book for STEM-inclined readers and lovers of animals. Recommended for reading aloud.
Sergei Franson
Library Assistant

Available at the Langley Adams Library

One Day in December by Josie Silver

Image
"Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn't exist anywhere but the movies. But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man who she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there's a moment of pure magic... and then her bus drives away. Certain they're fated to find each other again, Laurie spends a year scanning every bus stop and cafe in London for him. But she doesn't find him, not when it matters anyway. Instead they "reunite" at a Christmas party, when her best friend Sarah giddily introduces her new boyfriend to Laurie. It's Jack, the man from the bus. It would be. What follows for Laurie, Sarah and Jack is ten years of friendship, heartbreak, missed opportunities, roads not taken, and destinies reconsidered."*

Usually the romance novels don't cover such a long period of time but because it covers a period of 10 years it really sets it apart from other romance novels. It is an angsty and sometim…